HomeApply TodayNews & EventsContact UsSite Index
ABOUT DESALES
ACADEMICS
ADMISSIONS
ATHLETICS
ARTS
STUDENT LIFE
LIBRARY

DeSales University
Center Valley Campus

2755 Station Ave
Center Valley, PA
610.282.1100

Get Directions

 

Press Release: DeSales University Students Experience School Day of Old in Lutz-Franklin Schoolhouse
Date: 4/3/2008


Bookmark and Share

DeSales Students Experience School Day of Old in Lutz-Franklin Schoolhouse

DeSales University students will visit the Lutz-Franklin Schoolhouse in Lower Saucon Township from 9:30 a.m. to 11:30 a.m., Friday, April 4, to experience a typical school day in the one-room schoolhouse of the past. The students, all juniors majoring in education, are members of the curriculum and instruction class taught by Dr. Patricia Coughlin, assistant professor of education at DeSales.

Coughlin, director of elementary education the University, has been working with the Lower Saucon Township Historical Society (LSTHS) to create a curriculum module for the restoration of the Lutz-Franklin Schoolhouse. She developed a third grade curriculum module, which she is sharing with her students.

"My class is currently studying how to prepare a field trip that effectively enriches content being learned in the elementary classroom," said Coughlin. "The experience of the Lutz-Franklin Schoolhouse will help students put things in perspective, as they compare and contrast some of the changes that have occurred in education in the area over the years."

While visiting the school house, students will be able to step back in time to experience the one-room schoolhouse between 1930 and 1958. They will look through lesson plans, which reflect the Pennsylvania Academic Standards in history, economics, civics, government, and geography, and also at the materials for implementing those lessons. They also will view artifacts and documents, including textbooks, maps, and photographs, which will allow them to gain a sense of the time period and the changes that occurred in education during that period.

According to Coughlin, before the Revolutionary War, Benedict and Anna Lutz deeded an acre of property for a school to be built to educate their children and generations of children to come. The schoolhouse was rebuilt twice since that time. The present schoolhouse was built in 1880 and officially named Franklin School. From 1880 to 1942, the Lutz-Franklin School served as a one-room schoolhouse, grades first through eighth, for children in the local community. Franklin School closed in 1958. The Lower Saucon Township Historical Society, a registered Pennsylvania charity dedicated to the restoration and preservation of the Lutz-Franklin Schoolhouse, restored the schoolhouse for use within the community. Coughlin has been working with the LSTHS to create the curriculum for the schoolhouse.

For more information, contact Dr. Patricia Coughlin director of elementary education and assistant professor, 610 282 1100 ext. 1849 or Patricia.Coughlin@DeSales.edu .


Press Release: DeSales University Students Experience School Day of Old in Lutz-Franklin Schoolhouse | Posted on: 4/3/2008

For more info:
Tom McNamara, Executive D
irector of Communications
DeSales University | 2255 Station Avenue | Center Valley, PA 18034

610.282.1100 x1219 | Tom.McNamara@desales.edu

About DeSales | Academics | Admissions | Athletics | Arts | Student Life
Home | Current Status | Library | Contact Us | Site Index | Privacy Policy

Copyright © 2010 - All Rights Reserved